HSC Together > Year12 > Standard Model of Matter: Leptons


Standard Model of Matter: Leptons

This section is part of the HSC Physic syllabus Module 8: From the universe to the atom, Deep inside the Atom. Let’s investigate the Standard Model of matter.

All matter is made of elementary particles, the building blocks of matter. These particles occur in two basic types called quarks and leptons.


Let’s learn about leptons.

There are 6 types of leptons:

  • Electron
  • Electron neutrino
  • Muon
  • Muon neutrino
  • Tau
  • Tau neutrino